Posted by: Katherine | December 1, 2008

Off to a Rocky Start

Well, Advent began for us … well, let’s just say it could have been better.

Saturday evening, shortly before bed, my morning sickness kicked up the intensity a bit. I went to bed to wake up at 11:50 with Cecilia laying partially on top of me. Fortunately, I brought her back to her bed and lay down with her for almost an hour trying to get her back to sleep. She kept trying to lay on me and said twice that her tongue hurt, which I could only figure to mean she was thirsty. I finally told her she had to lay down and go to sleep or I was going to leave. Well, that must have upset her enough to send it over the top and she began vomiting. Usually I can handle this kind of situation pretty well, but I was already so nauseaus, I went and got James to help me. We cleaned her up, her bedding and put aside the dirty stuffed animals to be washed. She left and went to the bathroom and lay down on the floor. She wasn’t crying but she wouldn’t really talk to us so we weren’t sure what was going on.

Finally, around 1:15 or so, I lured her back to bed with the portable DVD player. I insisted she lay down while she watched and she watched 2 episodes of Mickey Mouse Clubhouse while I monitored to see if she was going to vomit again. She didn’t. So around 2:15, I shut everything down and finally got her asleep. I settled with a pillow and a quilt on the floor by her bed, just in case. Sure enough, a half hour later, she woke up and vomited again. Fortunately we had all the towels prepared and it wasn’t enough to merit a bit interruption and we went back to sleep around 3am.

We both slept until around 7am. When we got up we found out James had been up much of the night with Felicity, only eventually getting her asleep in our bed. We came downstairs and Cecilia climbed onto the sofa and lay down. She didn’t get up all day and vomited once more that morning. We put on some DVDs to make sure our usual Energizer Bunny didn’t emerge and she remained calm and resting. Around 1 we put on football and by 1:30 she was asleep and she slept for 3 hours. We never did make it to Mass yesterday. She cried and got all upset if I left her side, James and I were both exhausted, I was especially nauseous, and, needless to say, it was a right crappy day – except for the football.

Hopefully Advent will get better today. Cecilia hasn’t vomitted since yesterday morning, ate bread with a little butter last night, and this morning had a waffle and has already had her December 1st Advent Calendar piece of chocolate.

Here’s hoping the worst of Advent is over.

Responses

  1. Oh I’m so sorry. What an awful start. It’s hard enough when your kids are sick without having to deal with your own nausea too. I hope Cecilia feels better and you too.

  2. I hadn’t had to deal with my own nausea when someone else was sick before. Definitely made it harder. The smell seemed to follow me all day. Fortunately Cecilia definitely seems to feel better. My nausea comes and goes. Fortunately though I’m in my 3rd month and it shouldn’t be too too much longer before that 2nd trimester saves me. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

