Posted by: Katherine | January 22, 2009

36th Annual March for Life

36 years ago today, the United States Supreme Court declared abortion a constitutional right. Don’t ask me what constitution they were referring to as the United States Constitution never mentions abortion.

march_homeFor 36 years without fail, Americans of all races, religions, and ethnic backgrounds have descended on Washington, D.C. from around the country to protest the “right” to kill unborn children and speak out for those who cannot speak for themselves.

I’ve always been avidly pro-life. I thank God that He never permitted me to be so lost as to have an abortion because I honestly don’t think I would have been able to live with myself afterwards. I have great sympathy for women who have suffered from having chosen to have an abortion.

Just after James and I got married, we marched in the March for Life in 2005. In 2006, I was 9 months pregnant (and it turns out 7 days away from going into labor). In 2007 I had an infant and was still insecure about nursing in public and how to juggle an infant outside in the district for such a long period of time. In 2008, I had a newborn. Now, in 2009, I am pregnant with a 2 year old I am not supposed to pick up and a 1 year old. So I have not been able to March for Life since 2005. I really wanted to go this year, but it was not possible.

1.2 Million abortions were done in the United States last year. 1.2 million innocent lives intentionally lost. Obama has said he will sign into law the Freedom of Choice Act, which would invalidate all limits on abortion. Isn’t it ironic after he claimed to want to “reduce the number of abortions” (Saddleback Civil Forum, August 16, 2008  ) he simultaneously wants to eliminate any restriction on abortion? And this will reduce the number of abortions how? That is like saying we are going to remove all restrictions on alcohol consumption in order to reduce the number of drunk drivers. Ah, the logic.

What many fail to realize is that, if Obama signs FOCA into law, it is  possible that every Catholic hospital, all 573 (as of 2006) of them would be forced to close since they would refuse to perform abortions. In 2005, these hospitals treated 84.7 million patients. Imagine that many more patients on that many fewer hospitals. My OB/GYN office is firmly committed to the sancitity of life. I am concerned what effects FOCA could have on these wonderful doctors who have worked so hard to provide excellent faith-based healthcare.

It will be a dark day for our country if FOCA is made into law. We are already a beastly depraved country that kills our own children simply because they aren’t yet born. Yet things may yet get worse. I actully try not to think about abortion too much. I will end up crying almost every time.

And so it is with tears and sorrow that I join in prayer today with the many souls faithful to the dignity of life who will be marching in Washington to witness against abortion, against death, against the murdering of innocent children on behalf of the many unborn our nation has lost and those, like me, who cannot be there.

May God bless their peaceful protest and have mercy on our bloodied nation.

Leave a Reply

Categories

