Posted by: Katherine | March 26, 2009

Small Successes

small_successes_badge-300x2321. I gave the kitchen a thorough cleaning. That completes the real cleaning for the month. Of course the living room needs a vacuuming sometimes and the table needs to be wiped, etc. But all the heavy cleaning is done for March.

2. I have formally begun teaching Cecilia to read. She has begun her workbook in her Hooked on Phonics Kindergarten Program and has already completed the first lesson. She is struggling a bit with the second as she thinks she can not even look at the book but just at me and make random guesses. She gets easily distracted as well. But I must say I much prefer she begin now, take her time and enjoy it than I staple her tush to a chair in two years enforcing her to learn. I think once she gets it, she will love reading. She is a child who loves discovering things, especially for herself. Her biggest obstacle right now is how active and easily distracted she is. Why spend time thinking through something when you can just bounce around?

3. I actually managed to make all the phone calls I kept forgetting to make. I called my OB/GYN and rescheduled my 28 week appointment – I’m not fasting until the afternoon if I can help it. I finally called a friend who gave birth four weeks ago and had been unable to email me. And I finally spoke with a MaClaren Repairman. Our Single MaClaren stroller had a brake break off. We contacted MaClaren and were told that the company does not supply parts to private customers and to contat one of their service agents. The nearest service agent to us is 3 1/2 hours away and wouldn’t answer his phone. So I called one near where my parents live in Florida and he said they are not allowed to sell parts to customers for liability reasons and have to repair the strollers themselves. We will see what we can do, but what a pain in the tushie!

Responses

  1. Sorry for the struggles this week, but great job making so many calls and being such a great teacher. You inspire me!!

    God Bless!

    • Thx. Making phone calls is harder than it should be but it seems like during any call the odds of one or both girls screaming or crying – in play or in tears – are always against me. lol.

  2. I hope you can get your pushchair fixed.

    • Thanks. There is a repair center near where my parents live so we are going to see if they can get it fixed. Hopefully, eventually, it’ll get there.


Leave a Reply

Categories

