Posted by: Katherine | June 20, 2009

One of Those Nights

I have been wanting to go a particular museum for months now. I was hoping to get there today. God has stated very clearly that today will not be the day.

Last night Felicity woke up crying around 1am. James went to her. Shortly thereafter James came and woke me to help him as Felicity had thrown up all over herself, him and her bedding. We put a Mickey Mouse Clubhouse DVD on the portable DVD player and set her on towels in our bed. The DVD helped keep her calm, distracted and sitting in one place. I stripped her bed and then we went through hand towel after hand towel as she proceeded to throw up every 15 or 20 minutes.

Around 3 or so, Cecilia woke up crying. Since Felicity was laying on me, James went to her. She was scared and upset that Felicity and all her bedding were missing. Once she understood Felicity was sick, fortunately, she went back to sleep. Gradually the spans of time between throwing up got longer and longer. By 4am and the second DVD of Beauty and the Beast, they were about 35 or 40 minutes apart and somewhere around 4:30, James, Felicity and myself managed to fall asleep.

I woke around 5:30 to the Beauty and the Beast menu playing over and over again. I shut it down, rolled over, and went back to sleep. At 6:28, I woke to see Cecilia at our door. I’ve come downstairs with her with the hopes that James and Felicity will sleep for a while yet. So far so good. Thanks be to God though, the new curtains arrived and were put up yesterday, so it is still nice and dark in our bedroom.

Unfortunately my trip to the Newseum will have to wait. I just hope any labor waits until I get a nap or a good night’s sleep. Today is now, officially, a laundry day.

Responses

  1. So sorry to hear about your night. I hope that Felicity gets better soon and that no one else gets sick.

    • Thanks. So far everyone else seems fine and Felicity has seemed fine today, although I did have to break our new DVD rule to keep her from bouncing and running and stuff so much. I think now we just all need a really good night’s sleep and everything can get back on track.


Leave a Reply

Categories

