Posted by: Katherine | July 18, 2009

A Brief Break

Right now, my 3 year old, my 1 year old and my 3 1/2 week old are ALL SLEEPING AT THE SAME TIME! Woohoo!

So, now what do i do? I’m not sure. I’ve been in a sort of “survival” mode since Elizabeth was born. I don’t mean to say I’ve been wearing the same clothes for weeks or eating moldy cheese remains but it has always been a matter of doing what needed to be done at the moment whether that was changing a diaper, cleaning a mess, feeding a little girl, nursing, helping a little one get to sleep, showering, etc. There isn’t anything that needs to be done right this second. I suppose I could go dust something or scrub something, but that would hardly be a celebratory way to honor this rare moment.

So, I’m blogging. Well, I am also gorging on grapes and I also finished reading The Rite by Matt Baglio, which was a rather interesting read. First I would warn anyone interested in reading it that it is not written by a Catholic priest but by an American journalist who is still getting back in touch with his Catholic faith. I would also recommend having read Fr. Amorth’s An Exorcist Tells His Story first as it is a wonderful informational work to have under your belt before following Fr. Gary, in Baglio’s book, as he learns how to be an exorcist. Although I’ve read a few books on exorcism before, Baglio’s book was a new read as it is not just an information piece about demons and exorcisms. It does have some of that in it, but it is mostly about one priest’s journey learning about the rite and how he will be called on to be an American exorcist. He makes a point that this is not a glorious knighthood of conquering demons. Rather, it is a difficult ministry aimed at healing suffering souls and bringing people back to God. Exorcists are often ridiculed, mocked or scoffed at by their fellow priests, the secular world and the demons to boot. But, in the end, it is about allowing God to work through them to help people.

Baglio does go through the four forms of demonic influence: infestation, opression, obsession and posession, the various types of demons and common occurances during exorcisms but it is really Fr. Gary’s experience that makes this book unique and interesting. His doubts, his concerns, his questions and his experiences along the way are very understandable and almost tangible as the concerns, doubts and questions any of us might have even if we have no difficulty believing demons exist or having faith in the power of exorcism. Overall a good read but, as I said, I recommend having read Fr. Amorth’s book first.

Leave a Reply

Categories

