Posted by: Katherine | July 24, 2009

7 Quick Takes

7_quick_takes_sm

~~~~~~~1~~~~~~~

Lately Cecilia has taken to singing more. The ABC song and Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star are among her favorites. I have to admit though, I cannot help but grin when she sings the latter because sometimes she leaves off the “w”: Tinkle, Tinkle, Little Star…

Maybe it is the potty training on her mind.

~~~~~~~2~~~~~~~

Cecilia began to have constipation problems earlier this week so we adjusted our rules a bit. Now she has to drink her apple-prune juice at breakfast. She doesn’t mind this rule as she usually asks for it anyway. If she doesn’t finish it, it gets put in the fridge until lunch and she can finish it then but she usually finishes it at breakfast and will often even ask for it again for lunch, with which we happily comply. She is getting better in that she is getting more comfortable using the potty. In fact, twice this week she took of her completely dry pullup first thing in the morning, got on underwear, and went to the potty all without being told to. We’ve even offered to let her sleep the night in underwear but she wasn’t receptive to it yet. She is doing really well though.

~~~~~~~3~~~~~~~

We watched Coraline this week. A very strange but interesting film. Very dark. Definitely not for younger children. Coraline gets lured into a world where everything is the way she wants it: her father is fun and enjoys spending time with her and her mother cooks delicious meals and they both tuck her in at night and have a beautiful garden dedicated all to her and buy her nice things and even a neighbor who annoys her is mute. But, of course, getting what you want has its price but is it a price Coraline is willing to pay? What I really appreciated about the film, especially during these early post-partum weeks where things are in a bit of chaos and not really in a regular routine yet, is the important point that even though people may not do everything you’d like or be everything you’d like, they are still the people in your life. Your mother or father. Your spouse or sibling. Are they how you’d want them in your utopia? Probably not. But maybe that is a good thing. And, regardless, they are still YOUR mother, father, spouse or sibling and that is irreplaceable.

~~~~~~~4~~~~~~~

Well, Hell’s Kitchen began again this week. It still blows my mind how disrespectful some of the contestants, season after season, can be both to Chef Ramsay as well as to Jean Philippe. Maybe you don’t like them. Maybe you think one has language too foul or one comes across as a bit snooty. Regardless, you have to respect them for all they have accomplished in what they do. And to be a contestant on the show and treat people that way is just abhorrent. (WARNING, Spoilers ahead) That said I’m thrilled Robert is back! He had all the good lines last season and was a good chef. It is a new season with new people and a new menu but I hope he hangs around a while. I also think Joseph, who seems to think he is at war in a kitchen, Van and Lovely all needed to leave yesterday. Who screens these people anyway?

~~~~~~~5~~~~~~~

I read through Donna-Marie Cooper O’Boyle’s The Domestic Church: Room by Room this week. Personally I didn’t enjoy it as much as I had hoped but I think that might have more to do with me than with the book. I do think the book is much better suited to a study group where there can be discussion and mutual support and a flourish of practical suggestions and ideas. It was the practical application that I was hoping to read more of and missed. I also think it is better suited as an introductory book for women to use as a springboard into deeper texts such as church documents. Having gotten my M.A. in theology, I’ve read the documents she quotes and recommends and while a refresher is always nice, it wasn’t anything new for me but that doesn’t mean it wouldn’t be a great starting point for someone else, especially as a resource of which church documents might be best to read as regards women and the family and the vocation of marriage. I would recommend it but not to everyone.

~~~~~~~6~~~~~~~

Elizabeth is one month old today so I will be giving her a nice bath and weighing and measuring her. Last night I dreampt I went to weigh her and my scale, which is always very accurate and within an ounce of our pediatrician’s, said she weighted 3 pounds and some ounces. I looked at her chubby face and how big she has gotten and knew that wasn’t right so I kept trying and the scale settled on 26 pounds and some ounces, which is more than my 1 1/2 year old. Funnily enough, in my dream, I was content with that reading. I’ll post about her stats later but let’s just say it better be between the two dream readings.

~~~~~~~7~~~~~~~

I am about 100 pages into Jane Eyre and very much enjoying it. I am moving more slowly through John Bosco’s dreams but they are interesting. My next non-fiction book is actually of a more practical nature: Once-A-Month Cooking by Mary Beth Lagerborg. I’ve looked at it before but, as I said yesterday, I’m trying get better in my time management and this definitely includes cooking and to make sure I take serious look this coming week on how I want to handle August, I’ve made this book a current read.

Visit Jen for more Quick Takes!

Responses

  1. I like the Once A Month Cooking book. Even though it’s a bit dated compared to today’s trends, the recipes are solid. If your library has a copy of Table Talk (the sequel) check it out, too.

    Glad to find your blog via Jen!

  2. Of once a month style cookbooks, my favorite is Don’t Panic, Dinner’s in the Freezer. I found the others less suited to what my family will actually eat. I always say I want to master long term cooking, but never had.


Leave a Reply

Categories

