Posted by: Katherine | September 11, 2009

Seven Quick Takes

7_quick_takes_sm

~~~~~~~1~~~~~~~

We watched Molokai: The Story of Father Damien, the story of Father Damien who lived on the island of Molokai with patients diagnosed with leprosy and condemned to die there. He strives to improve their living conditions as well as their souls. Fr. Damien is played by David Wenham (think Lord of the Rings’ Faramir). Fr. Damien will be canonized on October 11th, so it was nicely appropriate to watch this film now. It was quite a good film. It follows Fr. Damien through his arrival on the island and his struggles on the island as well as off for the betterment of the patients, body and soul. Definitely recommend this one.

~~~~~~~2~~~~~~~

I bought some songs off ITunes including several I like from A Chorus Line and a couple from Seven Brides for Seven Brothers. I’ve been listening to them all week every evening when Cecilia and Felicity are in bed.

~~~~~~~3~~~~~~~

So far Cecilia seems to be faring the best of all of us. James’ cold has been quite severe. Felicity still has a runny nose and is cranky but that seems to be the worst of it for her. Elizabeth seems to be past the worst, though I think the nursing may have helped here in that regard. I’m not sure where my cold is yet. My throat seems to have improved but I haven’t really gotten any sinus trouble … yet. Hopefully, by this time next week, we will all be in the clear.

~~~~~~~4~~~~~~~

Does anyone else’s three year old ask them for “treats” at 9AM? Geez! And I assure you she knows we don’t do any “treats” at any time of the morning unless it is a special breakfast like cinnamon rolls or something.

~~~~~~~5~~~~~~~

I know technically Autumn isn’t for another 10 days but our weather lately has been very fall-like. Our days are cooler and rainier. I’ve had the windows open and the A/C off. It’s been great. Unfortunately the rain has made little ones restless. Hopefully next week they will be able to get out more and be feeling more up to it as well. A trip to the zoo next week should help.

~~~~~~~6~~~~~~~

Cecilia has become obsessed with a slinky. She doesn’t just make it slink or run it off the sofa. She runs it around the house watching it bounce and puts rubber ducks or other figurines inside it declares them trapped. Unfortunately she is less than careful with it and has pinched James with it and nearly hit Felicity. She is certainly using her imagination with it but I had no idea a slinky could be so dangerous. I guess it has been a while since I’ve seen one in the hands of a three year old.

~~~~~~~7~~~~~~~

My heart always sinks when I realize it is Septemeber 11th. I remember that morning. I remember hearing on the radio on my way to work at the University of Dallas Business Office something about a plane. I wasn’t paying much attention. I thought the radio hosts were talking about some TV show plot or something. Then I got to work and one of the women who worked there came up to me at my desk and told me about a problem with a plane. I was confused. I thought she couldn’t be serious. No one could actually mean someone had hijacked a plane. We had no TVs in the office and were not allowed to put on a radio. So the same woman brought us regular updates from her computer. I remember talking to my dad on the phone. He asked if I had heard about what was going on. I said I had but he filled me in on more than I knew. I spent the morning in shock and then sadness. I’m a native New Yorker. I’d eaten in the World Trade Center. My parents had worked in Manhattan. It was too surreal. When I got home from work I just watched the footage of the towers as they fell be replayed and tried to absorb the reality. My dad travels regularly for work. I thanked God he had not been on a plane that day.

I remember the explosion of patriotism that issued from our country after that. If only it had lasted. I am thankful for today and the opportunity to remember that day. If only we all could remember so well how we felt and what we thought that day – a day when everyone recognized what was right and what was wrong, that there was a truth and we were willing to stand up for it.

Read more Quick Takes at Jen’s.

Leave a Reply

Categories

