Posted by: Katherine | October 8, 2009

Small Successes

small_successes_badge-300x232

1. Cecilia has been getting up way to early for three days now. She even wakes Felicity up sometimes. And when I say early, I mean farmer early: 4:40AM, 5:15AM, 5:30AM. We’ve told her to stay in her room. We’ve told her not to wake her sister. We’ve told her to wait until her clock says 7:00. We’ve told her to go back to sleep. ALL to no avail. My success? I haven’t lost my temper yet.

2. I am all caught up on laundry – all the dirty clothes and bedding is clean and put away!

3.I have two more clean toilets, a clean microwave and a clean toaster oven!

Read more Small Successes on Faith & Family live!

Responses

  1. Visiting from F&F. Yay! Congrats on your successes! I know how that early morning thing feels. My kids have a “stay in bed until 7” rule too. Doesn’t always work here, either.

  2. Eek! Even my farmer doesn’t get up that early! I only have one toddler, but when she was tiny, she went through a phase of getting up in the 4s. Her first nap would be long before 7 AM – it was rough. Hope your little one outgrows this SOON!

  3. Bella’s been getting up when Dom does recently. We have trained her to just come out of her room and find him in the office and not wake Sophia. But I can see that if it were earlier than his wake up we’d be stumped. Maybe she could play quietly or read a book in the living room until everyone else wakes up? Or you could leave her a snack like a bowl of cereal on the table that she could eat quietly?

  4. Sounds like you’re feeling better than last week. I’m glad.

    It’s so hard to stay patient when needed sleep is taken away–good for you!

  5. Wow! Not losing your temper at 4:40 am is quite a success! Congrats on keeping the laundry under control and the toilets cleam. I’m super impressed! God Bless!

  6. Much thanks to everyone. It hasn’t been my favorite week but I’ve had worse.

    Melanie, we could try it, but Cecilia is the type of child who likes person interaction, so she goes seeking out people. She will climb into our bed (wake Elizabeth or kick me or lay on James), she will go to the basement and stop my dad from exercising, or she will wake Felicity. All of that involves opening and closing of doors and baby gates. I like your suggestion and, if she persists in this behavior, I will certainly give it a try but she is not the personality type to prefer quiet alone play time. It make take setting her up with a few things to keep her busy long enough.

  7. I totally understand the personality issues. Here’s a bunch of ideas for activities to entertain a toddler in the car. I wonder if some of them might be good to entertain Cecilia while others are sleeping? http://nettacow.blogspot.com/2009/07/keeping-toddlers-occupied-in-car.html


Leave a Reply

Categories

