Posted by: Katherine | October 9, 2009

Seven Quick Takes

7_quick_takes_sm

~~~~~~~1~~~~~~~

It has been a bit of a rough week. Cecilia has been up almost every morning by 5:30am or earlier. She has woken Felicity at such ungodly hours as well. She refuses to go back to sleep or stay in her room. She has woken Elizabeth by 6:30am as well. Now, as anyone knows, if little ones get up SO early and take NO nap, it becomes a very unpleasant event. And, yes, we have been there this week as well. I’m on the verge of inventing the first over-the-counter toddler-safe sedative and instant shake-and-pour margarita in a can for the parents who need them. (If these already exist, please send me 12 gross.)

~~~~~~~2~~~~~~~

Following on #1, I’ve been pretty angry this week. I’m tired. I’m frustrated. BUT, I am so proud of myself. My “Small Success” yesterday doesn’t begin to explain how proud I am that I have remained calm, not lost my temper, and sailed pretty smoothly through this week of extremely choppy waters. However, I wasn’t passive. After removing all DVDs (except one for Felicity who, let’s face it, hasn’t done much wrong), all access to the computer, any playtime on my Ipod, and any treats, I began boxing up toys. I put up over two full boxes of toys in the closet to be cycled at a future time of greater sanity or desperation.

~~~~~~~3~~~~~~~

I’m about half-way through Pollan’s Ominvore’s Dilema. I will never look at corn the same way again. (It has even become a running joke in our house: “How much of that is really corn?”) What this book talks about still blows my mind. Why do people feel they have the right to interfere so much in nature. I could understand manipulating nature to avoid starvation if third world countries or something, but the vast majority of the manipulation of nature in our country is sheer greed, and usually, through big government. It is repulsive on so many levels and it reminds me of something a theology professor, God bless Dr. Lowery, once said, “Nature bats last.” There will be a reckoning and it won’t be pretty. In fact we are already seeing the beginning of it in our country’s obesity epidemic. Makes me want to take up farming.

~~~~~~~4~~~~~~~

Obama won the Nobel Peace Prize. I’m confused. For WHAT?

~~~~~~~5~~~~~~~

It bothers me that NASA is shooting a rocket into the moon. I think it is for two reasons. First, a comet is not a rocket and I think we have screwed with nature enough down here and have no business doing it on the moon. Second, I’m a romantic and the moon is beautiful and it bothers me that this celestial being that has been admired and sung about for centuries looking down on all the beauty and violence of the earth is now going to be shot. It may sound silly or idiotic, but my gut reaction is to be sad and disgusted.

~~~~~~~6~~~~~~~

On The Biggest Loser, okay, how does Tracy keep losing weight? She can’t exercise. How does she keep doing it? Does she annoy anyone else as much as me?

~~~~~~~7~~~~~~~

We are taking the girls apple and pumpkin picking today. I’ll try to get up pictures soon. I’ll be making apple pies, pumpkin pies, pumpkin muffins and pumpkin bread with our prizes. I love Autumn!

See more Quick Takes at Jen’s Conversion Diary.

Leave a Reply

Categories

