Posted by: Katherine | February 12, 2010

Seven Quick Takes

~~~~~~~1~~~~~~~

For a long time, because Cecilia called Felicity “Icity,” Felicity would call Cecilia “Icity.” We’d been working hard to help her say each sister’s name. She now knows that only she is “Icity” and she calls Cecilia “Celia” and she calls Elizabeth “Beff”. It is adorable.

~~~~~~~2~~~~~~~

Yesterday, the girls had WagonWheel pasta with homemade alfredo sauce for lunch.

Yeah. That definitely called for a bath afterwards. But she enjoyed her lunch! Laundry this weekend.

~~~~~~~3~~~~~~~

Elizabeth has two teeth broken through and working their way up – the bottom two front teeth. This has made for less than perfect nights of sleep and some sudden wailing but I think she is slowly figuring out how handy they can be when it comes to eating.

~~~~~~~4~~~~~~~

Unable to explain satisfactorily to Elizabeth that laying down is more conducive to sleep than sitting up, I have been walking her to sleep. When she gets cranky at me, I would sing Baby Mine from Disney’s Dumbo. But there are parts that just didn’t work as well as I’d like. So I’ve been singing the rosary to her. I sing the Our Father in Latin and then the Hail Marys from “Hail Mary, Gentle Woman” and it seems to work really well. Anyone know if there is a CD anywhere of the rosary being sung?

~~~~~~~5~~~~~~~

What, do you think, is the best western film ever? I ask because James recently watched a trilogy of westerns, including the famous “The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly,” and, well, quite simply, I don’t get it. I mean I only half watched but it didn’t do anything for me. Why do they usually have magic bullets where one bullet kills a person but occasionally there are the Supers who require all 6 founds from a gun? I guess I am just not a westerns fan but I thought I’d ask what the best ones are and see if I like even those. I have seen a couple I like. I do like Tombstone and I remember liking Lonesome Dove though it has been so long since I’ve seen it I don’t remember much – but I will NEVER underestimate Water Moccasin snakes.

~~~~~~~6~~~~~~~

I think we are all done shoveling. … at least until the next snow which is scheduled for Monday. I almost feel like I don’t know what to do without picking up a snow shovel. Good thing I have 3 little girls to keep me busy. lol.

~~~~~~~7~~~~~~~

HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY!!!

More Quick Takes at Jen’s

Responses

  1. I love the lunch pictures! So cute.

  2. I have not seen them all, but if you want to know the western, then there are about 50 titles I came up with…so to make that list more reasonable, I’ll give you, in general, the top 21 according to popular opinion, critical opinion, historical significance, and myself:

    Stagecoach (1939)
    Destry Rides Again (1939)
    The Ox-Bow Incident (1943)
    Treasure of the Sierra Madre (1948)
    High Noon (1952)
    Shane (1953)
    The Searchers (1956)
    Rio Bravo (1959)
    The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance (1962)
    The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly (1966)
    The Wild Bunch (1969)
    Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (1969)
    Once Upon a Time in the West (1969)
    True Grit (1969)
    Little Big Man (1970)
    McCabe and Mrs. Miller (1971)
    Blazing Saddles (1974)
    The Outlaw Josey Wales (1976)
    Dances with Wolves (1990)
    Unforgiven (1992)
    Lone Star (1996)


Leave a Reply

Categories

